Managing teachers in your school
If your district is playing Classcraft, you may not be able to use all the teacher management features. Learn more about it here.
You can manage your school’s teachers from your School Dashboard by clicking on “Teachers” in the lefthand sidebar, under “Users.” This will display the teacher list for your school. Here, you can:
To add teachers to your school, click on the green “Add Teachers” button. You can choose to add teachers manually or to upload a CSV or XLSX file.
You can upload a CSV or XLSX file containing your teachers’ names and labels. Labels are not necessary but can help you organize teachers at your school.
You can use our CSV template to make sure that your template is formatted correctly. You should use one row per teacher. Include the following information for each teacher:
- First column: First name
- Second column: Last name
- Third column: Email address
- Fourth column: Labels separated by a semicolon (;) (optional)
Here are examples of correct entries:
After uploading your file, click on “Create Teachers” to add the teachers to your roster.
To add teachers manually, input their first name, last name, and email address. If you need more lines, click on “Add More.” Once you’ve input all new teacher names, click on “Create Teachers.” If any information is missing, a red line will appear below the empty field.
In your teacher list, you can view your teachers’ onboarding progress and add labels to your teachers. You can scroll down the list to find specific teachers or use the search bar at the top to search by name or label. You can also filter the list with some existing options (Last added, No label, Selected, Pending, Onboarding, Playing).
View Teacher Progress
Around each teacher’s picture, a green circle displays their current progress with setting up their account. If the circle is completely gray, this teacher did not start their setup. If there’s no circle, their setup is complete.
By hovering over the teacher’s picture, you’ll see more detailed information regarding their progress. You’ll see where they are in the setup process: whether they’ve completed the tutorial, set up their class, or added their students.
You’ll first need to select the teachers you want to add labels to by clicking on the checkbox beside their name. You can select a label from the list of existing labels for your school, or you can type in the text box to create a new label.
Click on the label checkbox to add or remove a label for the selected teachers. If the checkbox is empty, you can add the label to all the teachers selected. If the checkbox has a green “x,” all the teachers selected already have this label assigned. Unchecking the checkbox will remove the label from all the teachers. If there’s a gray “-” sign in the checkbox, only certain selected teachers have been assigned this label. In that case, you can click on the checkbox to apply the label to all teachers.
Once you have selected your labels, they’ll immediately be applied to the teachers. You can remove a label from a teacher by clicking on the “x” in the label tag, directly in the teacher list:
Note: Teachers and students don’t share the same label list.
When a teacher is no longer part of your school, you can choose to remove them from your teacher list. This action is irreversible. When you remove a teacher, all of their students currently part of your school roster will remain in your database.
The teachers will not lose the content they’ve created, and their account will continue to exist. If they no longer have access to the Premium version, they won’t have access to their Premium content (like Quests and Boss Battles). Once the teacher subscribes to Premium, they’ll regain access to their Premium content.
Before you remove a teacher, check the box to confirm your action before being able to click on the “Remove” button:
To view a specific teacher’s profile, click on their name in the teacher list. You can scroll up and down the list to find a specific teacher, search by name or label in the search bar, or use the pre-existing options (Last added, No label, Selected, Pending, Onboarding, Playing).
Click on the “...” icon to open the submenu where you can add or remove labels or remove a teacher from your school.
Each profile is split into two tabs: User Profile and Classes.
In this tab, you can find information about the teacher. This is where you can see and edit their first name, last name, username, email, phone number, and office number. You can manually edit a teacher’s password by clicking on the pen icon and choosing a new password.
In this tab, you’ll see how many classes a teacher uses Classcraft with. A list of all their classes provides you with more information about each class, such as the XP level cap and the HP and AP daily regeneration rate. Hover your cursor over a class name to edit its name and click on the checkmark to confirm your changes.
By clicking on the “...” icon beside the Class name, you can assign students to this class and view the complete Multi-Class information. You can learn more about these options here.
When you click on the “Manage Labels” button, you’ll see the list of labels available for the teachers in your school. You can delete a label by hovering your cursor over the label name on the list. A red trashcan icon will be displayed; click it and confirm to delete the label:
You can create a new label by inputting the label name in the “Create new label” text box and clicking on the checkmark once you’re ready.
Finally, you can edit a label’s name by clicking on the pencil icon on the right side.
Note: Teacher and students don’t share the same label list.