Archiving classes and student characters
By archiving classes and students, you can allow students to play Classcraft year after year, and it gives them a chance to experience new character classes while still being able to view their old characters.
Students can only have one character (or “player”) active at a time. A character is archived once all the classes they are playing in are archived or once the student archives the character themselves.
It’s important that students begin a new school year by making sure their character is archived so that they can create a new one that starts at level 1.
You can archive a class from its settings, where “Archive” is the last option. Note that the archiving process is non-reversible, so make sure to wait until you’re done playing!
Archiving students’ characters
Archiving a class does not deactivate or delete a student’s Classcraft account. If a student goes on to play Classcraft in a future class, they can create a new character in their existing account. Learn how to:
Note: Students can also archive their characters if no action was taken on their account in the last 14 days (such as receiving XP, losing HP, etc.)
Adding a student who has played in a previous year
When students want to begin a new year in Classcraft, they must first archive any active character. They can then enter their new class code into their existing account profile and create a new character to join your class.
In addition to asking students if they’ve played Classcraft previously, you may want to ask if they’ve already created a new character for this school year. If so, you can follow the steps in the section directly below.
Adding a student currently playing in another class
If a student is currently playing in another class, they should be added to the new class using the Student Database.
You can find a summary of Multi-Class students and stats in your class settings. In the User section, click on “Multi-Class” to view the list of students participating in your class. A checkmark in another column indicates that a student is participating in another class:
If you're not connected through a school or district license, you'll first need to connect to other teachers before you can share students. Learn how to use Teacher Connect here.
The Hall of Heroes
Students who have archived characters can view their past characters in the “Hall of Heroes,” including their previous powers, gear sets, and fully-trained pets.
Students can equip old, fully trained pets onto their new characters, even if they’re a different character class, through the Equipment section.
Unarchiving students' characters
If students were accidentally removed from their class, they can access their Hall of Heroes via their student account and click the “Unarchive” button to bring back their character. This way, they can continue earning points and leveling up with that character. Again, students can only have one active character at any given time.