Accessing and using the Progress Center

The Quests Progress Center enables you to easily edit an objective — its tasks, assignment details, and more — as well as view and manage student progress. You can access it by clicking on any objective. Once you've opened the Progress Center, you can:

Quests_-_Progress_Center_Main.png

 

Navigate the objectives list

Your objective list is displayed on the lefthand side of the Progress Center. To access it, select any objective on your quest map. This list gives you a general sense of the progress for each objective:

objective_progress.png

  • Pale gray: Students who did not reach the objective yet.
  • Dark gray: Students who reached the objective but did not complete it.
  • Green: Students who successfully completed the objective.
  • Red: Students who did not have satisfactory progress for this objective.

Tip: Use the minimap to easily navigate between objectives. This view helps you visualize quests with many objectives or branching paths!

minimap.png

On the righthand side, you can click the section titles at the top to view the student progress overview, story, task, and discussion for the selected objective.

View and evaluate student work

In the “Overview” section of any objective, you can view the list of students who have unlocked the objective. If assignments are enabled, you can see a chart of which students have turned in their work and whether they’re early, on time, or late with their submission.

evaluate_work.jpg

Click the “Give Feedback” button or click the icon (feedback_button.png) in the Feedback column to evaluate a student’s work. You can learn more about assignments and feedback here.

Evaluate student progress

You may create objectives that are not self-paced but that don’t require a digital assignment (for example, in the case of a presentation). For these objectives, students will be able to mark their tasks as complete. Navigate to your Progress Center for this objective and check the list:

task_completed.png

A dot in the “Task Completed” column indicates that your student marked their task as complete. Evaluate their progress as satisfactory or not by using the green checkmark or the red x. If you want to select the same outcome for every student, click on the “...” icon beside “Apply to All Students” and select the desired outcome.

Evaluate student assignments

If you enabled assignments for an objective, you can evaluate your students’ work before deciding the objective outcome.

Annotate and grade the assignments, then upload them one by one or all at the same time.

apply_to_all_students.png

Make sure to keep the same file names that were provided when you downloaded the assignments originally. That way, when you use the “Upload all graded assignment files” option, the game will automatically sort the graded versions of the assignments to the appropriate students.

upload_all.png

When uploading graded assignments, you can also select if student progress is deemed satisfactory or not (see below). If you deem the student’s work entirely unsatisfactory, select them from the list and click on the “Unsubmit” button to return ownership of the assignment to the student so they can edit their work or start over. As long as you haven’t selected an outcome for the objective, they’ll be able to upload a new file. Once you’ve selected an outcome, you can still unsubmit work but the outcome will not automatically change.

unsubmit.png

Tip: Communicate clearly with the student that they have a second chance! Students aren’t notified when you give them feedback or when you unsubmit their assignment.

Select the outcome

Once you’re satisfied with students’ assignments and are ready to let them move forward in the quest, select the appropriate outcome: Use the green checkmark for students who successfully completed the objective and the red X for those who have unsuccessfully completed it. Both outcomes can lead students to the same next objective or to different objectives, depending on how you set up your quest. You can also select the outcome for each student when uploading reviewed files or from the Overview tab of the objective.

Note: A blue border around the student progress section indicates a self-paced objective. Your students will automatically receive a green checkmark for completing the objective. You can learn more about Self-Paced Progress and how to manage student outcomes (including assignments) here.

Use the Discussion feature

If you have comments enabled on an objective, students can respond and engage in discussions online. To enable or disable discussion, go to the objective settings and scroll down to the Discussion section:

Quests_-_Use_the_Discussion_Feature.png

Click on "Manage" to decide which notifications you want to receive by email or not.

You can see all comments on the objective in the Progress Center. Promote good digital citizenship by rewarding students with XP or GP (Premium feature) for thoughtful, positive comments. You can discourage negative online behavior by removing HP from students who post inappropriately.

comment.png

When students see a classmate posting inappropriate content, they can "flag" the comment for your attention. This will remain anonymous on the student side but will show you (the teacher) which student flagged the comment. You can then decide the next best action, such as removing the comment and/or HP from the offending student.

flagged_comment.png

As the teacher, you can post new comments or reply to any existing comment. Edit any student’s comment by clicking on “Edit.” Clicking on the “More” button will bring up the full editor, which will enable you to format your text or embed images or videos. You can also attach files from your computer, Google Drive, or Microsoft OneDrive in the Discussion by hovering over the paperclip icon and clicking on the corresponding button.

You’ll receive a notification in your Activity Center whenever a student comments on a quest or reports a comment as inappropriate.

Customize objective settings

Click on "Settings" to bring up the settings for an objective.

Progress: You can enable Self-Paced Progress, which allows students to automatically proceed to the next objective when completing a task or assignment. 

Task (Google Classroom Only): A Google Classroom objective will be Classroom-enabled in all the classes a quest is assigned to. You can pick the Google Classroom and assignment independently in each class. 

Assignment: You can enable assignments for this quest objective in the settings. You’ll be prompted to choose a due date and rewards for your assignment.

Discussion: You can enable class discussion for an objective. You may also choose to receive email notifications when a new message is posted.

Synchronize Your Settings: Even when your quest is assigned to several classes, some settings are not automatically shared. Click on the “Synchronize” button to sync your class-specific settings to other classes. Select where you want to overwrite this objective’s settings and confirm that you agree that your settings will be overwritten. Once you’re ready, click “Confirm.”

sync_settings.png

Delete objective: You can delete an objective from the quest by clicking on the “Delete” button. This will delete the objective in all the classes this quest is assigned to. Doing so will also delete the students’ progress, assignments, and discussions associated with the objective. This action is irreversible. In the dialogue box, click on the two checkboxes to be able to click on the “Delete” button.

delete_objective.png

Was this helpful?